Jayne McAllister

Travel Wellness Expert and Author

10 Healthy Travel Snacks

7 Comments

Probably more than anything, I’m asked what travelers should take as snacks on their trips.  It’s a good question because there are so many fat- and sugar-laden options at airports (and in supermarkets for that matter…).  Here are my go-to favorites:

Mixed NutsAlmonds. I always have a bag of almonds with me in case disaster (i.e. hunger) strikes.  Fat, fiber and flavor. Quick and easy.  Around 21 almonds equals an ounce and that should more than suffice.  I generally limit myself to ten.

Goji Berries.  What?  The most nutritionally rice berry-fruit on the planet. They are a complete protein source as well as being full of vitamins and minerals. Gojis contribute to longevity and healthy hormones; improve vision; boost the immune system; and they contain a huge amount of hydrogen so are excellent for countering inflight dehydration. You’ll find them at your local health food store.  And, you can get chocolate-covered goji berries but I didn’t tell you that.

Fresh fruit. Flying dehydrates you horribly and fruit is full of the best quality water there is.

Hummus. Even airport shops sell little tubs of hummus nowadays. It’s a yummy blend of protein and carbohydrate, and the fiber helps prevent inflight bloating.

Boxes_CoconutRaw chocolate.  Chocolate is a super food but not when it has soy fillers and artificial ingredients.  Raw chocolate is the real thing and it’s delicious. My favorite is www.vitachocolates.com.  I’m addicted to the coconut flavor.

Organic sweet potato chips.  So much better than the processed snacks you may or may not get on board.  These days I’m addicted to Late July’s products.  www.latejuly.com.

Raw veggies.  Looking for crunch?  Get adventurous.  Carrots and celery are yummy but find your inner radical and bring slices of fennel, jicama and radish with you.  Even better with the hummus!

Chips and salsa. Of course!  Salsa is made from fresh, raw vegetables.  Pair with gluten-free chips such as Late July (mentioned above) or lentil chips (www.mediterraneansnackfoods.com).

Jerky.  I’m including this for the meat lovers and carbo-phobes among you.

Seaweed snacks.  My favorite!  They weigh nothing so I always have a packet in my handbag. Seaweed is a super food and it’s a great protein – excellent for leveling blood sugar. A whole packet is 60 calories but you have to check your teeth afterwards for green bits.

Author: jaynemc111

Author. Travel Wellness Expert. Speaker.

7 thoughts on “10 Healthy Travel Snacks

  1. Thank you! The timing was great, I was just saying yesterday that I missed contact with you! I’ve been trying to stay on board and except for a trip to Savannah and one to Tampa and a few other minor indescretions, I’ve been doing pretty well. Hope you are well. Thanks for this info. Peace, Austine.

    • Great to hear from you, Austine. I’ll be blogging a lot now that season is over so I hope to “see” you here again. Great job on maintaining the program!

  2. Reblogged this on Hot, Cheap & Easy and commented:
    AS the summer travel season begins, here is some excellent snacking advice for road warriors from Jayne McAllister!

  3. Terrific post! I have reblogged on Hot, Cheap & Easy!

  4. I didn’t think you could bring open packages of food (like raw fruit and veggies) into an airport. I always buy that stuff after passing through security. Am I mistaken? Or have you just escaped detection?

    • Hi Judith, for some reason I only just saw this over a year later! You can put pretty much anything in a baggie and take it through. Technically, hummus and salsa are liquids and should be in containers smaller than 3 ounces but I’ve never had anyone stop me for hummus! For the record, I’ve taken a cooked chicken through security. It’s a long story but I basically forgot that I had it! Nobody stopped me.

Leave a Reply

